Archive for June 2nd, 2011

Juneathon day 2 – Bootcamp session 4

Today I gave the EA Sports a miss to see if it improved my performance at bootcamp. It did! I’m going to change my workout plan to reflect this as I don’t want to push myself too hard.

Bootcamp was excellent today. Only two of us turned up and it was boiling hot. I of course was wearing winter running tights (I like the compression, oh and I don’t have any others!), two sports bras (recommended on Twitter and seemed to work!) and a black top – B.O.I.L.I.N.G.

As we started warming up, another group came and set up right next to us. Now this is a fairly roomy park with not many people using it and this group had their cones about 15 feet from ours. Guys, there’s a whole field here!!! At first it was a little off putting as this was a group of young fit sporty types who could run and catch footballs and breathe and looked delighted all at the same time. How very fucking annoying clever of them.

The effect this had on our trainer however was fabulous. A competitive streak emerged and he pushed us. Proper encouragement and spurring on, proper explanations of moves, far more attention paid to form. Now I know it was because he wanted to look good in front of the other trainer us to have a fabulously successful session but for whatever reason, I liked it. He’s not a bad trainer when he’s not flirting or spacing off.

I really enjoyed today’s session and used a mantra I read earlier on Fat Girl Running’s blog “I can do this, I am STRONG”. We did a lot of running today (I estimate about 2 miles not including the exercises) and I was struggling in the heat and with my innate desire to give up and sit down. I used the mantra to keep running and not slow or walk. It worked well for me with the in-breath on “I can do this” and the exhalation on “STRONG”.

I worked hard today, ran all the running (no cheating and slowing to a walk) and most of the exercises, far more than last time. I need to do as much work on my attitude as I do on my body. I want to be fit, I want to be strong but my body just wants to give up, sit down and have a cup of tea. Another demon to add to the list I suppose – ME!

I had a shower when I got back and blasted my legs with cold water – felt really good! I know that cold baths are supposed to be good for recovery but I don’t think I could stay in one! And yes, I realise that they are for people who have done hard long training like marathons but we all have to start somewhere…and here I am at the beginning, aching, smiling and wanting to be able to do more.

Dinner: Vegetable tagine with 7 veg for luck and an apple

Low point of today: Feeling really unsupported in my fitness goals by my OH

High point of today: Rocking the bootcamp and the resultant high!

Tomorrow I think I’ll drop my EA Sports workout to light intensity and have a good dog walk to stretch out these aching legs.