Archive for June 10th, 2011

Sensible meets silly and wins.

I was going to blog earlier and I’m glad I didn’t because the shortened version would have been along the lines of “moan whinge moan meep humph”. Bet your glad the day picked up aren’t you 🙂

 

This morning was pretty non existent for me – woke up with swollen mouth (pretty!) and raging headache because at the grand old age of 37 I’m getting my second set of wisdom teeth. Sprouting and removing one set wasn’t good enough for my body, oh no, they had to go one up and produce another set in the same spot! And let me tell you fortunate folk who only have one set of wisdom teeth – having them break through surgical scar tissue is less than pleasant. So, long story short (like I’m capable!) my OH got up to watch the puppies and I went back to bed to nurse my aching body (from orthotic torture and bootcamp) and my poorly head. Eventually I crawled out of my pit to pour coffee and green smoothie into myself so that I could watch the Five afternoon movie. Well, if that isn’t enough to drive anyone out of the house, I don’t know what is.

 

So as the OH ran out of valiant effort energy and sloped off to bed for a crafty afternoon nap, I decided that I should walk the dogs. I stood in the bedroom hovering between dog walking trousers and running tights having the mental argument that this was supposed to be Week 1 Day 2 of the 5k training programme yet I felt feverish and quite unwell…but the 5k wasn’t going to run itself…So, I told my OH that I needed some help with a decision. That’s all I said. The response was “Yes I know – you have lolled around all day and this is Juneathon after all and you need some exercise so get it together, get your closes on an walk the dogs.”

 

I nearly fell over in shock. This is the first encouragement I’ve had from the OH…and what a sterling effort! However my OH is nothing if not clever and medically minded so when faced with the further information that I was hovering between running and walking, I was given a stern “A gentle walk…and take the boy so that he can throw the sticks”

 

Doing as I’m told isn’t my strong point but for once I did and was grateful. My legs felt like jelly and I was sooo glad that I hadn’t tried to run. Less glad that I’d told my teenager that I felt like poo as I spent the first 15 minutes being challenged to running races. When will I learn? Never show a teenager your weaknesses!

 

Anyway, it turned out to be a lovely 1.8 mile walk in the sunshine with my boy, my dog and the temporary puppy. There was much swimming and chasing (the dogs) and much playing of pooh sticks (me and the boy) and winning of pooh sticks (me!).

 

So despite feeling like utter shite this morning, the fresh air and silliness worked and after deciding that I didn’t want to wait until Sunday, there is a lemon chicken roasting in the oven with beetroots freshly ripped up from the allotment and roast potatoes in rosemary olive oil. On the side is a big bowl of salad – lettuce and radish from the allotment, alfalfa sprouts (made on the windowsill), orange and carrot from the shop with a home-made honey mustard dressing.

 

Here’s to feeling better tomorrow and getting that run in after all!