Archive for June 7th, 2011

Juneathon Day 7 part deux

Met up with my friends for a dog walk at the fabulous Moseley Bog. A great muddy stomp for the dogs and a cleaner one for us on the new boardwalk paths! I tried out Runtastic today as my OH has been recommending it for walking. Now my OH has Runtastic Pro and I have the free version so I don’t know if it makes any difference but I wasn’t impressed. It tracked us as having gone 1.25 miles in 46 minutes 55 seconds! Now we weren’t in a hurry but we did have a bit of a stomp on. So I’ve estimated that we did about 2.5 miles including stopping to chat with other dog walkers and letting the dogs wallow in the mud.

So, two lots now logged and blogged! Get me!

Right off for a well deserved nice long bath before Knit Night.

Stretching myself

Today I mentally started again.  Yesterday was miserable and my foot pain was really disheartening. Last night we again had the troll downstairs keeping us up again until 5am. If it hadn’t been for that, I think I would have had quite a good nights sleep due to the night time antihistamine and yet another new relaxation app (this one is a dud though so not even going to bother reviewing it).

Breakfast was a lovely peach, banana, gooseberry yoghurt smoothie.

This morning I started the new run training app and followed these timings:

  • 5 minutes warm up
  • 60 seconds jog
  • 90 seconds walk
  • 60 seconds jog
  • 90 seconds walk
  • 60 seconds jog
  • 90 seconds walk
  • 60 seconds jog
  • 90 seconds walk
  • 60 seconds jog
  • 90 seconds walk
  • 60 seconds jog
  • 90 seconds walk
  • 60 seconds jog
  • 90 seconds walk
  • 60 seconds jog
  • 90 seconds walk
  • 5 minutes cool down
Total is 30 minutes.
I did pretty well I think and found it quite challenging to run/walk for 30 minutes as I usually only do up to 20 minutes. The 5 minutes warm up and cool down each end are longer than I’d usually do but seemed to help my breathing. I also took my inhaler before I got out of the car rather than during or post run.
Today was the first run I’ve had where my legs struggled before my lungs did!
I’ve got shooty pains up my shins now even though I stretched out well afterwards but I feel like I need more stretching out! The shooty pains were there while I was running but lessened when I changed my foot position. I’m seeing the podiatrist next  week so will ask them for some advice.
The app completely failed to log my GPS location or distance (maybe a hidden setting?) so I plotted it on Map my Run when I got home and was surprised to see that I’d run 1.94 miles. Quite happy with that!
Lunch was tortilla and tomatoes – nom!
Right, am out to walk the dogs so will add to my total later.
Jogged, logged and blogged – Juneathon back on track!